Welcome to Writer in Residence Blog!

Welcome to my brand new blog! As you can probably see, I’m new to this blogging game, and generally feel more comfortable behind a typewriter or pen and paper! However, I am attempting to embrace my New Year’s Resolution for 2015: ‘To Write More’ – which may sound pretty simple, but I’ve made the same resolution for the past three years in a row (not to mention wanting to ‘be a writer’ since I could write my own name), and this January, I decided to finally make it happen.

After selling a small business last year which I ran with my husband, Jon, in order that he could pursue his passion (becoming a primary school teacher), I finally decided to take the plunge.  So I’ve set up a tiny ‘writing corner’ in the bedroom, set about researching freelance writing websites and started working on some of the creative ideas that have been taking up space in my head for far too long.  Now what??

I quickly realised that the thing I miss most about going out to work is the company and camaraderie of work colleagues; love ’em or love to hate ’em, it’s people that make your world go round.  And so I am hoping, by starting this blog, I might get to chat with some people who are either in the same position (whether staying at home to work or bring up children – which we all know is the hardest job in the world), or who are just interested in similar things, whatever would be great.  I’d love to celebrate the simple things in life with you; curling up with a good book, taking a walk on this beautiful planet, laughing until you cry…

About Me

As I said before, I have wanted to write since, like, forever. I live with my long-suffering, totally supportive (pretty wonderful, actually, but don’t tell him) husband, Jon, and our two awe-inspiring daughters, Eleanor (15) and Holly (8), as well as George the cat.  As well as writing, I love reading (goes without saying) and am currently finishing the last part of an English Literature degree.  I love Yoga and walking in the wonderful green spaces around my home in South Yorkshire.  I also have a passion for issues affecting women and girls in our society, and for celebrating the unique wonderfulness of our diverse humanity.

So that’s me. I hope you will visit again and share your thoughts and ideas.

Kate  x

What are your simple pleasures?  If you could radically start something new in 2015, what would it be and what’s holding you back?

5 thoughts on “Welcome to Writer in Residence Blog!

  1. So happy to have found your blog today, Kate! I, too, am a writer who has set up shop in a small corner of her living room. I’ve been freelance writing for a couple of years now from Los Angeles and am in the midst of completing my first novel. It can be a little isolating to be a work-from-home writer, so it’s a pleasure to virtually meet a kindred spirit. I look forward to following your blog in the coming days! And congrats on setting the wheels in motion on your dream!

    Like

Leave a Reply

