I Write…

I have to owe this blog post to writer Avril Joy* who gave out the missive in her own blog post recently to write spontaneously about your reasons for writing; this can then become your own Manifesto. I tried it to kick-start my writing this morning, and this is what I got.

I Write…

Because it seems like the most natural thing in the world to do.

Because not everyone can.

Because some people have told me they like what I write…

and some people told me I couldn’t do it.

Because books brings joy.

Because it gives me the biggest buzz when I see something that started as an idea in my head actually in print.

Because it shows my daughters’ that you should follow your passions.

Because I can.

Because whenever I stop, I feel bereft.

Because it helps me make sense of things.

Because I have things to say.

Because I have to.

Because I need to.

Because it’s part of who I am.

Because I don’t want to die knowing that I never tried.

These are the reasons why I write. What are yours?

Happy Writing,

Kate x

*Check out the original post by Avril Joy at www.avriljoy.com

Leave a Reply

