Birthdays, Time and Rays of Sunshine

Hi all,

Well, it’s been one of those weeks, this week.  Ups, downs and all the stuff that goes in between, really.  So, basically, just Life then.

First off, there’s been two birthdays in our household this week.  My own and my youngest lovely, who turned 9 on Thursday, unbelievably, and I was reminded again of how swiftly life moves by without us noticing.

One of my favourite, and most humbling, quotes is written on a postcard on the pin-board above my desk by John Lennon: ‘Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans’.  It’s something I definitely think you realise more and more as you get older, and as your children grow.

But the thing that makes this saying even more poignant to me is that I have a tiny handwritten note, written by my mum in a blunt pencil, after the birth of my older daughter, in which she wrote the lyrics to the song that quote came from: ‘Beautiful Boy’.  She has substituted the words with ‘beautiful girl’, and she used to sing it to get her to sleep when she was tiny.

The writing on that note is fading and reminds me it will be 12 years since I lost my beautiful mum in March.  Time just keeps moving on.

It seemed right, then, that this week when I was reflecting on time’s passing, a short flash piece I wrote a while ago based on the birth of my daughter was published in the fabulous, quirky lit mag SickLit.  If you’d like to have a little read, it’s here: http://sicklitmagazine.com/2016/01/15/life-by-kate-jones/

One person commented on my ‘blunt but also sharp style’.  I liked that comment very much:)

In other news, I have also just found that I have been long-listed for the Flash 500 competition!  This is my first long-list, and I am thrilled to be listed amongst so many other great writer’s of flash.

Whenever I get anything published, or receive nice comments about my work, it would be wonderful to call mum up and let her know how it’s going.  But I guess this is something we all have to deal with when we lose loved ones, and I’m luckier than most to have my lovely little family to celebrate with.

Finally, I put together a piece about Roundabout charity for The State of the Arts website.  Roundabout is a homeless charity for young people in Sheffield aged 16-25.  This is such a worthwhile charity based here in my home city, so if you get chance, please do have a read and support them if you can: http://www.thestateofthearts.co.uk/features/35870/.  It will make you feel good all over:)

That’s about it for now.

Have a great weekend – reading, writing or just loving those people who are special in your life.

Kate  x

 

Leave a Reply

